top of page
Image by George Prentzas

Cephalonia & Itaca general information 

Cephalonia and Itaca are the best Beach Islands of Greece 


All the beauty of Greece is concentrated in Kefalonia. 


Cephalonia, the biggest island in the Ionian sea and with 32,000 inhabitants and 781 km², is the fifth largest of all the Greek islands. Here you can find a lot of different landscapes: a green luxuriant vegetation alternates with a rugged, bare environment, uncountable wild beaches with wonderful crystal waters, the underground lake of Melissani, the stalagmite Grottos of Drogarati, mountains that reach 1725 mts. to Mount Eros with its Black Fir Forest, extremely rare unique species protected here thanks to the Institute of National Parks that also protect local rich flora and fauna: 1014 different types of plants, wild Enu horses, hawks, extraordinary golden-eagles and the marine fauna includes dolphins, Monaca Seals and the Caretta-Caretta turtles.


You will not be able to forget places like Fiskardo, Assos, Luxouri, Skala, Sami, Kourkoumelata, and Argostoli the elegant centre of the island because they will amaze you and if you have a time do not miss out on a trip to beautiful and mythical Ithaca that you can reach in only 30 minutes by ferry. Basically you will love Kefalonia for its beautiful beaches, various excursions, tavernas, fantastic wine (Robola), the hospitality of its people and for many other things.

The island of Ithaca is located west of the mainland of Greece in the Ionian Sea and is the second smallest inhabited island of the "Heptanese".


Ithaca consists of two peninsulas with almost equal extent. They are joined by the isthmus of Aetos which is 620 m wide. The island has a maximum length of 29 km and width of 6.5 km. The total area covering 92.5 sq km. The channel between Ithaca and Kephalonia is 14 miles long, with a maximum width of 3 miles and a minimum of 1.5 miles. Its coastline of 45 miles is indented all around with many natural ports. The three highest mountains are Mt. Petaleiko in the south, the Homeric Mt. Neritos and the Mt. of Exoghi in the north. Ithacas capital is Vathy in the south, and the largest village in the North island is Stavros.


There are ports in Vathy, Piso Aetos, Polis Bay, Frikes and Kioni. Administratively, Ithaca belongs to the Kephalonian County which also includes several other neighboring small islands.  Occupations of locals are: cultivation, stock-breeding, technical and engineering professions, government, fishing, and for the most part, tourism. A large percentage of the working population are also traditional sailors. The population now stands at around 4000.

bottom of page